Press Releases

All Articles

Weiss Memorial Hospital Awarded Distinguished 2010 Bronze Award from The Lincoln Foundation for Performance Excellence

Dec 03, 2010

For more information contact:
Catherine Gianaro
(773) 564-7285

CHICAGO, IL December 3, 2010 – The Lincoln Foundation for Performance Excellence announces Weiss Memorial Hospital is a recipient of the 2010 Lincoln Bronze Award for “Commitment to Excellence” for earnest efforts to adopt and apply continuous improvement principles. Weiss Memorial Hospital will be formally honored at the 16th annual award recognition ceremony on January 13, 2011 at Tellabs in Naperville.

Weiss Memorial Hospital is a Joint Commission-accredited, 339-bed community healthcare facility on Chicago’s North Side, providing a full range of medical services to its patients. Weiss has more than 400 physicians, many of whom are affiliated with the University of Chicago Medical Center and University of Illinois Medical Center, and 43 medical specialties, which offer technologically advanced diagnostics and effective treatments in a convenient community setting. Part of Vanguard Health Systems, Weiss is affiliated with the University of Chicago Medical Center and is a private, for-profit hospital. For more information, visit the hospital website at

“Weiss has committed to achieving excellence across all clinical departments and patient services,” said Frank Molinaro, Chief Executive Officer. “We are so proud The Lincoln Foundation has recognized our hard work and dedication to improvement.”

About The Lincoln Foundation for Performance Excellence:
The Lincoln Foundation for Performance Excellence is a 501 (C) (3) organization backed by both private and public funding that assist Illinois organizations to continuously improve their performance by encouraging, developing, and highlighting excellence among all sectors of the economy: industry, service, healthcare, education, non-profit and government. The Foundation hosts a number of events throughout the year focused on organizational development and process improvement. Each year selected teams of Lincoln Examiners review and assess each award application based on the seven criteria of the Malcolm Baldrige criteria for performance excellence, including leadership, strategic planning, customer focus, measurement analysis and knowledge management, workforce focus, process management and results. A Panel of Judges then determines which applicants have earned recognition. For more information on how your organization can benefit from services provided by The Lincoln Foundation visit